Call for 2017 CAPA/GoPath Best Abstract Award

The mission of the Chinese American Pathologists Association is to promote excellence in practice, education and research in pathology, as well as advocacy on behalf of Chinese pathologists. The objective of the CAPA/GoPath Best Abstract Award is to encourage and reward outstanding research contributions by our young pathologists.

1) First-authored abstracts accepted for either platform or poster presentation at the 2017 USCAP Annual Meeting
2) Pathologists-in-training (current residents and fellows) of Chinese ethnicity in North America

Submit the accepted abstracts along with USCAP acceptance notices to Dr. Hanlin Wang by emailing to, no later than January 15, 2017.

The abstracts will be reviewed and scored in a blind fashion by members of the selection committee. Abstracts with the highest average scores will be selected as winners. There will be one winner for the first place, two for the second place, and three for the third place.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Annual CAPA Business Meeting during the upcoming 2017 USCAP Annual Meeting in the afternoon of Saturday, March 4, 2017, in San Antonio. Each winner will receive a certificate with his/her name, a cash award, and recognition on the CAPA website. The winners must be present in the CAPA meeting in person; otherwise the awards will be revoked. The winners will be notified in the beginning of the February 2017, and are required to confirm their attendance to the CAPA meeting.

We encourage residents and fellows to become CAPA associate members (no membership fee for residents and fellows until the changes to the bylaws implemented). Please go to for forms and instructions to submit membership application.

[Selection Committee]
Ruoqing Huang, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of SUNY, Regional Director of Cytopathology, EHC/QHC Mount Sinai Services;?Haiyan Liu, MD, Director of Cytopathology, Geisinger Medical Center;?Yan Peng, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, UT Southwestern Medical Center;?Hanlin Wang, MD, PhD, Professor, University of California Los Angeles;?Hua Yang, MD, Assistant Professor, University of Calgary;?Xinmin Zhang, MD, Professor, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University;?Chengquan Zhao, MD, Professor, University of Pittsburgh

Call for Speakers for Chinese Society of Pathology Annual Meeting in He’fei, November 24-27, 2016

The Chinese Society of Pathology (CSP) Annual Meeting will take place in He’fei, China, November 24-27, 2016. As we did in previous years, CAPA is calling for five speakers from the CAPA community for this Chinese national meeting. The meeting organizer has given the following specific topics to avoid overlap with the other speakers at this meeting. Continue reading

The 2nd CAPA Diagnostic Pathology Course, Houston, November 12-13, 2016

You are cordially invited to join us for the 2nd Chinese American Pathologists Association (CAPA) Diagnostic Pathology Course on Saturday and Sunday ?(November 12 -13, 2016) at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas. This two-day course provides in-depth coverage on the pitfalls or mistakes that are commonly encountered in daily diagnostic pathology and intraoperative frozen section consultations, and the best practice approaches to avoid these mistakes in a format of didactic lectures and case-based presentations. Given the great success of our first CAPA diagnostic course and the unforgettable time in New York last year, we are confident that you will enjoy this great CAPA educational event. In addition, you will also enjoy the following additional benefits and more. Continue reading

2016 President’s Message

It is my distinguished honor and privilege to be elected as the president of the Chinese American Pathologists Association (CAPA) for 2016-2017. Thank you for your support and trust!

CAPA has become an internationally recognized organization within the pathology community, thanks to the strong leadership and strategic visions of our past presidents; dedication from our current and past executive committee members, subcommittee chairs, co-chairs and members; and strong support from our active members. Continue reading